Loading Map....

Date(s) - 01/07/2017 - 28/09/2017
All Day

The John Moore Museum



To mark 50 years since the death of Gloucestershire writer, John Moore, as well as 110 years since his birth in Tewkesbury, the museum is mounting a new exhibition which will focus on the author’s ‘Country Contentments’ series of books which were published in the 1950s.


Published in 1954, The Season of the Year was the first of John’s self-styled ‘country contentments’.  Writing in a fervent poetic style, he devoted each chapter to a calendar month and expressed his memories of and feelings towards the passing year.


Published in 1956, Come Rain, Come Shine was the second of John Moore’s ‘country contentments’ series of books.  In this successor to The Season of the Year he reviewed the pleasures, small and great, that may be found within the English year.  He finds beauty and interest in all the creatures and events that regularly mark its progress.



The Times Literary Supplement remarked of Man And Bird And Beast (published in 1959) that, ‘if anyone were considering the advantages of living in the country, he could no better than read of the “contentments” that John Moore has found there.’  In the book are distilled all the essence of hedgerows and hayfields, village greens and village cricket, angler’s days by quiet streams, the country lore of bees and bats and badgers – everything in fact that makes up the revealing life of the countryman.


Published in 1963, The Year of the Pigeons is an almanac of the rustic year, inspired by the unusually severe winter of that year when starving pigeons descended upon fields in a plague.

The book was the last in his ‘country contentments’ series and shows that John Moore was alive to all the ravages of weed killers and insecticides, which were widely used in the perennial battle between people and nature.


Tuesdays to Saturdays 10am to 1pm & 2pm to 5pm (last entry at 4.30pm)

Normal museum admission prices apply